you're reading...

Three to Take Oath of Office During Lee’s Summit Board of Education Meeting Thursday Evening

Art Credit: KC Education Enterprise | Photo Credit: 123rf stock image | Logo Credit: Lee's Summit School District

The Lee’s Summit School District Board of Education will meet Thursday, April 12, at 7 p.m.

In addition to routine items on the agenda, such signing a three-year agreement with a vending company and declaring surplus property, the board has a full schedule. They will revise policies, refinance bond debt and swear in three new members.

According to the Missouri School Boards’ Association, the district should revise a list of policies due to changes in federal and state laws. Thursday evening, board members will review these suggested changes in policies on topics ranging from  “Prohibition Against Discrimination, Harassment and Retaliation” to “Criminal Background Checks” and “Visitors to District Property/Events.”

Other business includes considering a resolution authorizing refinancing of about $17.7 million in school bond debt, taking advantage of more favorable interest rates to save money for the district.

Later in the evening, members will appoint one of nine applicants to fill the board seat vacated by Annette Braam’s resignation. Braam’s resignation came too late for her seat to be included on the April 3 ballot. Last month the board interviewed all nine, and Thursday evening a committee will announce the person they have selected to be their new colleague. That person will then take the oath of office along with two incumbents — Ron Baker and Patti Buie — who are beginning new terms in office. An election was not required to fill their seats, because no one filed to challenge them.

After the three are seated, all board members will vote to select the president, vice president, secretary and treasurer who will lead during the 2012-2013 school year.

The nine expressing interest in the open board position (including links to their application letters) are:

  • Phyllis A. Balagna
  • Stewart Chase
  • Kim Fritchie
  • Hilary Johnson Graves
  • Dale E. Greer
  • J. Travis Loyd
  • Randy Smith
  • Sherri R. Tucker; and
  • Robert “Bob” R. White.

The meeting, which is open to the public, will take place in the Board Room of the Central Office; 301 N.E. Tudor Road; Lee’s Summit, MO 64086.


Read our Twitter feed for more education news from local, regional and national sources:http://twitter.com/#!/JW_Martinez


Or you can subscribe to the daily KC Education Enterprise roundup of local, state and national education news on paper.li: http://paper.li/JW_Martinez/1322883462

About jwmartinez

JoLynne is a journalist and educator. She holds a bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Kansas and a Master of Arts in Teaching from Park University and is certified to teach high school journalism and English. Former employment includes work for Cable News Network and the University of Missouri-Kansas City in addition to freelancing for clients such as the Kansas City Star and The Pitch.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. ( Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. ( Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. ( Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. ( Log Out / Change )


Connecting to %s


Publisher & Editor

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 245 other followers

KC Education Enterprise

KC Education Enterprise

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

Build a website with WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: